How green is socialism?

in Context
May 13, 2022 18:00 - 20:00
Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Audimax II (Hörsaalzelt) Philippstr. 13, Berlin

The current ecological crisis seems to be deeply linked to the capitalist exploitation of nature. Does a socialist society offer an adequate solution to this problem? What are the limits of capitalist adaption? with Klaus Dörre, Nancy Fraser and Raul Zelik.

Topic

From an ecological point of view, capitalism has considerable disadvantages: Not only does its logic of growth deplete existing resources at a frantic and ever-increasing speed, but capitalism’s reward system also incentivizes people to exploit natural wealth free of charge. Once raw materials are used up, the systemic compulsion to minimize costs in a capitalist economy also punishes those who do not pass on the consequences of consumption and production to others. Consequently, the oceans are polluted and the atmosphere—after acid rain and ozone depletion—is finally on the verge of collapse due to constant pollution by industrial exhaust gases.

Against this background, it is not necessary to have a detailed knowledge of Marx’s excerpts on industrial agriculture to see why his theory on how capitalism works is experiencing a renaissance in contemporary ecological discussions. Increasingly, the diagnosis is presented: Capitalism cannot solve the current ecological crises. What is needed is a different (in want of a better name: “socialist”) society.

As convincing as the diagnosis of the causes of the manifold ecological crises is, the proposal to see the solution to the problems in socialism must come as a surprise. Neither the actually existing socialist states of the 20th century nor the socialism of the 21st century in China and Venezuela have a convincing ecological record. On the contrary, it seems almost as if capitalism’s unleashed spirit of innovation is developing ecological restructuring into just the latest guarantor of growth. We therefore discussed with three Marx-inspired proponents of ecological socialism, the limits of capitalism’s capacity for change and their ideas for a sustainable democratic society.

Speakers

Klaus Dörre is professor for the sociology of work, industry and economics at the Friedrich-Schiller-Univeristät Jena. He is a co-director of the research-group “Postwachstumsgellschaften” (Degrowth Societies).  In his latest book Dörre develops a utopian concept of sustainable socialism (“Die Utopie des Sozialismus. Kompass für eine Nachhaltigkeitsrevolution“)

Raul Zelik is an author, political scientist, and translator. Zelik was associate professor for international politics at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. And thought political theory in Berlin, Kassel and Bogotá. His most recent book is on the concept of green socialism („Wir Untoten des Kapitals. Über politische Monster und einen grünen Sozialismus“).

Nancy Fraser is the Henry and Louise A. Loeb Professor of Philosophy and Politics at the New School for Social Research. She works on social and political theory, feminist theory, and contemporary French and German thought.  In her recent article “Climates of Capital” (2021) she applies her expanded conception of capitalism to the question of ecological crisis.

Gallery

How green is socialism?

How green is socialism?

in Context
Mai 13, 2022 18:00 - 20:00
Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Audimax II (Hörsaalzelt) Philippstr. 13, Berlin

Die gegenwärtige ökologische Krise scheint tief mit der kapitalistischen Ausbeutung der Natur verbunden zu sein. Stellt ein sozialistisches Gesellschaftsmodell eine adäquate Problemlösung dar? Wo liegen die Grenzen der kapitalistischen Wandlungsfähigkeit? Wir disktuierten mit Klaus Dörre, Nancy Fraser und Raul Zelik.

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Thema

Aus ökologischer Sicht hat der Kapitalismus erhebliche Nachteile: Nicht nur erschöpft seine Wachstumslogik vorhandene Ressourcen in rasender und ständig zunehmender Geschwindigkeit, das Belohnungssystem des Kapitalismus verführt auch noch dazu, natürliche Reichtümer auszubeuten, weil sie nichts kosten. Sind die Rohstoffe vernutzt, bestraft der systemische Zwang zur Kostenminimierung in einer kapitalistischen Ökonomie zudem jene, die die Folgen von Konsum und Produktion nicht auf andere abwälzen. In der Folge vermüllen Meere und die Atmosphäre gerät durch industrielle Abgase nach saurem Regen und Ozonloch gerade endgültig an den Rand des Kollapses.

Es bedarf vor diesem Hintergrund keiner genauen Kenntnis der marxschen Exzerpte zur industriellen Landwirtschaft, um zu sehen, warum seine Theorie dazu, wie der Kapitalismus funktioniert, in ökologischen Diskussionen der Gegenwart eine Renaissance erfährt. Immer häufiger ist die Diagnose zu vernehmen: Im Kapitalismus sind die aktuellen ökologischen Krisen nicht zu lösen. Es bräuchte eine andere (mangels eines besseren Namens: „sozialistische“) Gesellschaft.

So überzeugend die Diagnose der Ursachen für die vielfältige ökologische Krise auch ist, der Vorschlag im Sozialismus die Lösung der Probleme zu sehen, muss überraschen. Weder die real existierenden sozialistischen Staaten des 20. Jahrhunderts noch der Sozialismus des 21. Jahrhunderts in China und Venezuela haben eine überzeugende ökologische Bilanz. Im Gegenteil scheint es geradezu so, als ob der entfesselte Innovationsgeist des Kapitalismus den ökologischen Umbau gerade zum neuesten Wachstumsgaranten entwickelt. Wir diskutierten deshalb mit drei von Marx inspirierten Befürworter:innen eines ökologischen Sozialismus, die Grenzen der kapitalistischen Wandlungsfähigkeit und ihre Ideen einer zukunftsfähigen demokratischen Gesellschaft.

Gäste

Klaus Dörre ist Professor für Arbeits-, Industrie- und Wirtschaftssoziologie an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Zusammen mit Hartmut Rosa leitet er das DFG-Kolleg „Postwachstumsgesellschaften“. Im vergangenen Jahr erschien sein Buch „Die Utopie des Sozialismus. Kompass für eine Nachhaltigkeitsrevolution“ bei MSB Matthes & Seitz Berlin.

Nancy Fraser ist Henry und Louise A. Loeb Professorin für Philosophie und Sozialwissenschaften an der New School for Social Resarch. Sie arbeitet zu Sozialphilosophie und politischer Theorie. Im vergangen Jahr erschien ihr Artikel “Climates of Capital”. In ihm analysiert sie die ökologische Krise im Rahmen ihres umfangreichen Kapitalismusbegriffs.

Raul Zelik ist Autor, Politikwissenschaftler und Übersetzer. Er forscht zu Krisen und Konflikten in Lateinamerika und Spanien. Zelik war Associate Professor für Internationale Politik an der Universidad Nacional de Colombia und unterrrichtete Politische Theorie in Berlin, Kassel und Bogotá. Zuletzt erschien im Suhrkamp-Verlag sein Buch „Wir Untoten des Kapitals. Über politische Monster und einen grünen Sozialismus“.

Gallery

How green is socialism?