#DemocratizingWork

November 4th
online

“Working humans are so much more than ‚resources‘. This is one of the central lessons of the current crisis.“ The worldwide political call of several thousand scientists who are taking the corona pandemic as an occasion to demand changes in the world of work begins with these words. The initiators argue for a „democratization“, „decommodification“ and „remediation“ of work by: 1. giving work councils the same voting rights as supervisory boards, 2. distributing and organizing work not exclusively as a commodity and via market mechanisms, but by creating a job guarantee, and 3. implementing these goals in line with a „Green Deal“ that takes into account the current ecological challenges. Depending on the understanding of democracy that underpins these demands and what exactly is meant by decommodification, the transformation of the world of work is less or more profound. As part of our series of events “In Context” we will discuss the arguments behind these demands with three of the main initiators of this call – Neera Chandhoke, Isabelle Ferreras and Lisa Herzog.

The list of problems and contradictions that the corona pandemic has made visible in the current world of work is long. First of all, the pandemic has shown that it is difficult to speak of a world of work at all. On the one hand, there is the relatively protected world of highly qualified employment, which largely corresponds to the normative standards of modern working societies. On the other hand, there is the world of underpaid, precarious work, which runs counter to these standards. The boundaries of these different worlds are largely determined by the political and social inequalities that run along the lines of class, race and gender. In the pandemic, it is precisely the underpaid and precarious fields of activity that have proven to be „systemically relevant“. Furthermore, the pandemic has made visible how strongly western industrial nations are dependent on workers and products from countries whose citizens are simultaneously denied legal migration and access to national labor rights. How far must the transformation of labor relations and their institutions go to enable a more just distribution and organization of work? Do we simply need more effective political means to enforce the normative standards already recognized? Or should we question the understanding of work that shapes our normative standards and labor institutions?

 

Neera Chandhoke is National Fellow at the Indian Council of Social Science Research and was formerly Professor of Political Science at the University of Delhi. In her last book Rethinking Pluralism, Secularism and Tolerance. Anxieties of Coexistence (2019) Chandhoke examines how people of different languages, religions and ethics live together with a degree of civility, dignity and mutual respect.

Isabelle Ferreras is a sociologist and political scientist and Professor at the University of Louvain (Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium). In her book Firms as Political Entities. Saving Democracy through Economic Bicameralism (2017) Ferreras suggests to organize firms in a “bicameral” structure that grants the same rights to workers as the ones held by capital investors.

Lisa Herzog is Associate Professor at the Faculty of Philosophy and the Center for Philosophy, Politics and Economics of the University of Groningen. In her book Die Rettung der Arbeit. Ein politischer Aufruf (2019) Herzog argues for a political shaping of the present and future world of work that sees work as an essential source of social integration.

#DemocratizingWork

#DemocratizingWork

November 4th
online

„Arbeitende Menschen sind sehr viel mehr als bloße ‚Ressourcen‘. Dies ist eine der zentralen Lehren aus der gegenwärtigen Krise.“ Mit diesen Worten beginnt der weltweite politische Aufruf mehrerer tausend Wissenschaftler*innen, die die Corona-Pandemie als Anlass nehmen, um eine gerechtere Gestaltung der gegenwärtigen Arbeitswelt zu fordern. Unter den Schlagwörtern der „Demokratisierung“, „Dekommodifizierung“ und „nachhaltigeren Gestaltung“ der Arbeit, argumentieren die Initiator*innen dafür: 1. den Betriebsräten in Unternehmen die gleichen Stimmrechte wie den Aufsichtsräten einzuräumen, 2. Arbeit nicht ausschließlich als Ware und über Marktmechanismen, sondern durch die Schaffung einer Arbeitsplatzgarantie zu organisieren und 3. diese Ziele im Einklang mit einem „Green Deal“ umzusetzen, der den gegenwärtigen ökologischen Herausforderungen Rechnung trägt. Wie weit die Transformation der gegenwärtigen Arbeitswelt reicht, die hieraus folgen würde, hängt maßgeblich davon ab, welches Verständnis von Demokratie diese Forderungen begründet und was genau unter der Dekommodifizierung der Arbeit verstanden wird. Im Rahmen unserer Veranstaltungsreihe „In Context“ diskutieren wir diese Fragen mit drei der Hauptinitiator*innen dieses Aufrufs – Neera Chandhoke, Isabelle Ferreras und Lisa Herzog.

Die Liste der Probleme und Widersprüche ist lang, die die Corona-Pandemie in der gegenwärtigen Arbeitswelt sichtbar gemacht hat. Zunächst einmal zeigt sich in der Pandemie, dass es schwierig ist überhaupt von einer Arbeitswelt zu sprechen. Auf der einen Seite findet sich die relativ geschützte Welt der hochqualifizierten Anstellungsverhältnisse, die den normativen Standards moderner Arbeitsgesellschaften weitestgehend entspricht. Auf der anderen Seite die Welt der unterbezahlten, prekären Arbeit, die diesen Standards zuwiderläuft. Die Grenzen dieser unterschiedlichen Welten sind maßgeblich von den politischen und sozialen Ungleichheiten bestimmt, die entlang der Linien von class, race und gender verlaufen.  In der Pandemie haben sich nun gerade die unterbezahlten und prekären Tätigkeitsfelder als „systemrelevant“ erwiesen. Darüber hinaus hat die Pandemie sichtbar gemacht, wie stark westliche Industrienationen abhängig von Arbeiter*innen und Produkten aus Ländern sind, deren Bürger*innen gleichzeitig die legale Migration und der Zugang zu nationalen Arbeitsrechten verwehrt wird. Wie weitreichend muss die Transformation der Arbeitsverhältnisse und ihrer Institutionen sein, um eine gerechtere Gestaltung der gegenwärtigen Arbeitswelt zu ermöglichen? Bedarf es bloß wirksamerer politischer Mittel, um die bereits anerkannten normativen Standards durchzusetzen? Oder sollten wir das Verständnis von Arbeit in Frage stellen, welches unsere normativen Standards und Arbeitsinstitutionen prägt?

 

Neera Chandhoke ist Fellow des „Indian Council of Social Science Research“ und war Professorin für Politikwissenschaft an der Universität von Delhi. In ihrem letzten Buch „Rethinking Pluralism, Secularism and Tolerance. Anxieties of Coexistence“ (2019) untersucht Chandhoke, wie Menschen verschiedener Sprachen, Religionen und Ethiken in gegenseitiger Würde und Respekt zusammenleben.

Isabelle Ferreras ist Soziologin, Politikwissenschaftlerin und Professorin an der Universität von Louvain (Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgien). In ihrem Buch „Firms as Political Entities. Saving Democracy through Economic Bicameralism“ (2017) schlägt Ferreras vor, Unternehmen in einer „Zwei-Kammer-Struktur“ zu organisieren, die den Betriebsräten die gleichen Stimmrechte einräumt wie den Aufsichtsräten.

Lisa Herzog ist Professorin an der Philosophischen Fakultät und am Zentrum für Philosophie, Politik und Wirtschaft der Universität Groningen. In ihrem Buch „Die Rettung der Arbeit. Ein politischer Aufruf“ (2019) plädiert Herzog für eine politische Gestaltung der gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Arbeitswelt, die Arbeit als eine wesentliche Quelle der sozialen Integration begreift.

#DemocratizingWork