International Women’s Strike on the 8th of March 2017

Why you should join the #womensstrike on International Women’s* Day and form a women*s council

Something new is taking shape in the world: in more than 30
countries, people are calling for an international women*s strike on the 8th of March. Already last autumn, major protests took place against the destruction of women’s rights in Poland. In Argentina, a strong movement has formed against the murders of women* and the violence of debt and economic exploitation, which is resonating across Latin America. Following the inauguration of Donald Trump as US president, the world watched in amazement as huge numbers of women* and their supporters demonstrated on the 21st of January.

The womens’* strikes stand for a feminism of the 99%. The issues which affect women are general issues. Women are so diverse in terms of background, skin colour, sexuality and even sex, that this movement can take on the full revolutionary legacy and carry it forward. Women* recognise where violence rules, because they and their children experience it often enough. Women* know where work is exploited, because as workers they carry a double load and are paid less.

When we call for a “Day without women*” on the 8th of March, we do so because we are indispensable. And because we are indispensable, we do not want to devote our work, our strength, our care to propping up and patching up a world in which new life is ground down in competition and the drive for profit, a world which rests on the idea that some lives are worth more than others. On the 8th of March, we not only want to turn our backs on the work which forces us against each other or remains invisible. We want more. We want to turn towards each other and spend a day finding out what it would mean to come closer to the world in which we want to live and in which our descendants and the descendants of other species can live.

For more information and references:

 

This post is also available in: Deutsch (German)

International Women’s Strike on the 8th of March 2017

Internationaler Frauen*tagsstreik am 8. März 2017

Aufruf zum Frauen*tagsstreik (#womensstrike) und zu Frauen*räten

Es regt sich etwas Neues auf der Welt: In über 30 Ländern wird am 8. März zu einem internationalen Frauen*streik aufgerufen. Schon im letzen Herbst kam es in Polen zu großen Protesten gegen die dortige Abschaffung von Frauen*rechten. In Argentinien hat sich eine starke Bewegung gegen Frauen*morde und die Gewalt von Schulden und wirtschaftlicher Ausbeutung formiert, die auf ganz Lateinamerika ausstrahlt.  Nach der Einsetzung von Donald Trump als US-Präsident haben am 21. Januar riesige Demonstrationen von Frauen* und ihren Unterstützer_innen die Weltöffentlichkeit in Staunen versetzt.

Die Frauen*tagsstreiks stehen für einen Feminismus der 99%. Die Belange, die Frauen* betreffen, sind allgemeine Belange. Frauen* sind ihrer Herkunft, ihrer Hautfarbe, ihrer Sexualität, selbst ihres Geschlechts nach so unterschiedlich, dass diese Bewegung Anliegen vertreten kann, die das volle revolutionäre Erbe antreten. Frauen* erkennen, wo Gewalt herrscht, weil sie und ihre Kinder sie oft genug zu spüren bekommen. Frauen* wissen, wo Arbeit ausgebeutet wird, weil sie doppelt belastete und schlechter bezahlte Arbeiter_innen sind.

Wenn wir am 8. März einen “Tag ohne Frauen*” ausrufen, dann deshalb, weil wir unentbehrlich sind. Und weil wir das sind, wollen wir unsere Arbeit, unsere Kraft, unser Kümmern nicht länger dafür einsetzen, eine Welt zu stützen und zu flicken, in der neues Leben in Konkurrenz und Profitstreben aufgerieben wird und die darauf beruht, allem Leben unterschiedlich viel Wert beizumessen. Was wir am 8. März tun wollen, ist nicht nur, der Arbeit, die uns zwingt gegeneinander oder unsichtbar zu arbeiten, den Rücken zu kehren. Wir wollen mehr. Wir wollen uns einander zuwenden und einen Tag lang proben, der Welt näher zu kommen, in der wir leben wollen und in der unsere Nachkommen und die Nachkommen anderer Spezies leben können.

Zu mehr Informationen und Hinweisen:

This post is also available in: English (Englisch)

Internationaler Frauen*tagsstreik am 8. März 2017